Oklahoma residents 18 and older with a valid physician’s recommendation are allowed to apply for a medical marijuana license.
There are businesses that will help you get all of your documentation together and create the application for you. Additionally, you can download a checklist here.
OMMA is the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, the state’s governing body for the medical marijuana industry. OMMA oversees licensing, regulations, and program administration for Oklahoma’s medical marijuana program, including approving medical cards and managing distribution.
The standard fee for applying for a medical marijuana card is $100, although a reduced fee of $20 is available to individuals who can provide adequate proof of Medicare or Medicaid (Sooner Care) enrollment, or of their status as a 100% disabled veteran. Fees are non-refundable, even if the application is not approved, and must be paid by credit or debit card. (Additional processing fees–also non-refundable–will be added to the transaction.)
You may also want to factor in any charges you may incur during the doctor’s visit you need to obtain approval for a medical marijuana card. Very few, if any, health insurances will cover the cost of this office visit.
In Oklahoma, it is illegal for anyone who doesn’t have a patient or caregiver medical marijuana card to enter a dispensary with the intent to buy.
In Oklahoma, you are legally prohibited from smoking medical marijuana in public places except where specifically allowed by law. If the owner of an establishment creates an atmosphere for medically licensed cannabis smokers, then those are the places in which you are allowed to smoke. In general, the rules and regulations regarding smoking or vaping medical marijuana are the same as those for smoking or vaping tobacco or nicotine.
Besides that, you are allowed to smoke in privately owned places with permission.
No matter where or who you are getting medical cannabis from in Oklahoma, you’re required to prove you have a medical card for it to be legal.
While it is currently against regulations for law enforcement officers in the state of Oklahoma to obtain a medical cannabis card, it is perfectly legal for their spouses and family members who qualify to do so.
With more than 12,000 marijuana-related businesses now licensed in Oklahoma and somewhere close to 1 in 10 Oklahomans carrying their medical marijuana cards. These businesses bring in $150 million dollars in revenue for the state in 2021.
There is no legal way to acquire, purchase, or smoke cannabis in Oklahoma without a medical card. If you are not a resident you can apply for a non-resident card through the OMMA.
Only medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma and must be obtained with a medical marijuana license or card issued by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). Medical marijuana is available to people who have a medical diagnosis for chronic illness or injury and who have been prescribed marijuana as a treatment by a board-certified doctor.
Recreational marijuana is not legal in Oklahoma. Individuals in Oklahoma who are caught using or possessing marijuana without an OMMA medical marijuana card face fines, misdemeanor charges, and more. Here’s more on Oklahoma and recreational cannabis.
Oklahoma provides temporary reciprocity to temporary out-of-state visitors. This means that, while Oklahoma residents applying for a medical marijuana card must present proof of residency, you do not have to be a resident of Oklahoma to apply for a medical marijuana card; you would simply apply for a temporary out-of-state medical card. You do, however, have to show proof of an out-of-state medical marijuana license. In February 2021, the Oklahoma legislature passed an extension that allows out-of-state medical marijuana cards to be valid for two years.
Oklahoma does honor active and valid state-issued medical marijuana licenses from other states, but not letters from physicians in another state in lieu of a state-issued license.
Your Oklahoma medical marijuana card is good for two years, after which you will need to renew it. You can renew your card online at the OMMA website within 30 days of the expiration date listed on the card. You will need an identification document and the information for your recommending board-certified physician, as well as the $100 renewal fee. Renewals are usually processed within 14 days.
If you do not renew your card within 2 years, you will essentially need to reapply, including paying the $100 application fee and obtaining the physician’s approval again.
Purchase limits are on a per transaction basis, not daily or monthly.
These purchase limits are the same as the possession limits in Oklahoma; that is, at any time, individuals with a state-issued medical marijuana license are limited to these amounts in their possession.
While Oklahoma residents with a state-issued medical marijuana license are allowed to drive with marijuana in their car, it must be closed and out of reach of the driver and they may not cross state lines. Additionally, it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana and for anyone to consume marijuana in a vehicle, either drivers or passengers.
Oklahomans with a valid, state-issued medical marijuana card may cultivate up to 6 seedlings and 6 mature marijuana plants, all within your primary residence and all out-of-sight of any streets or main thoroughfares. Medical marijuana card holders may also designate a caregiver to grow medical marijuana plants on their behalf.
A caregiver license affords the same allowances in purchasing, cultivating, and possessing medical marijuana as a medical marijuana patient card, enabling the caregiver to administer medical marijuana to homebound patients. However, individuals with a caregiver license are not allowed to consume marijuana or marijuana-derived products. Individuals applying for a caregiver license must show proof of age, Oklahoma residency, their patient’s identity and homebound status, and their designation as the caregiver for the medical marijuana license holder.
There is no fee for a caregiver license, but they are only valid up to the expiration date listed on the patient’s medical marijuana card. Caregivers can support up to five medical marijuana patients, but patients may only have one caregiver.
Oklahomans who consume medical marijuana–in any form–are required to pay taxes. The current tax rate is $3.50 per gram of medical marijuana. To remain compliant with laws and regulations, medical marijuana consumers must purchase stamps proving they paid for any marijuana they have in their possession. If stamps are not purchased, a fee of $7 will be applied to every gram of medical marijuana.
No. In Oklahoma, medical assistance programs are not required to reimburse you for costs associated with the medical use of marijuana. This would only change if federal law requires reimbursement.
In short, this means that an employer cannot discriminate against a person with a medical marijuana card, but, especially depending on the nature of the work and its connection with federal regulations, the employer can order drug tests, check the validity of the medical marijuana license, and set parameters for if, when, and where medical marijuana can be on the premises, if at all.
CBD oil does not produce the psychoactive effects of THC, but it does provide an array of potential medical and therapeutic benefits. CBD oil is legal in Oklahoma, but it must contain less than .3% THC. For more information on CBD oil, visit our blog here.
Minors without a medical marijuana card can enter a dispensary if they are accompanied by a parent or guardian who is licensed for medical marijuana. However, unlicensed minors may not purchase or consume medical marijuana at any time.
Important to note: Even with a medical marijuana card, minor patients must still be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to enter a dispensary.
CBD (cannabidiol) is one of the many compounds (or cannabinoids) found in cannabis plants. It is an entirely different compound from THC, the chemical that produces psychoactive effects, and does not contain any THC. Hemp contains more CBD than marijuana, which contains more THC.
Although CBD and THC have the same chemical formula and work by binding to receptors in your body, their differing atomic arrangements mean they produce different effects. CBD blocks certain neurotransmitters and may help reduce things like inflammation and anxiety. You cannot get high from CBD or CBD oil, and CBD products sold in Oklahoma can contain no more than 0.3% THC.
Medical marijuana and recreational marijuana are essentially the same product; the primary differences lie in their usage or purpose, the primary cannabinoid (CBD or THC), and where it is purchased. In addition,